University of Montana 1999-2000 Catalog
School of Education

Donald L. Robson, Dean

Sharon Dinkel Uhlig, Associate Dean

The School of Education consists of three departments: the Department of Curriculum and Instruction, the Department of Educational Leadership and Counseling, and the Department of Health and Human Performance.

The School of Education is accredited at all levels by the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education, the Northwest Association of Schools and Colleges and the Montana State Board of Public Education.

Programs in the School of Education are organized to foster the development of a learning community and incorporate three basic themes: integration of knowledge and experience; cooperation among participants; and inclusivity, caring and respect for others. Programs at all levels emphasize professional ethics, a commitment to life-long learning, academic competence and skills in higher-order thinking, an appreciation for the integration of knowledge, a sense of self worth, and respect for the uniqueness of the individual and the diversity of cultural heritage. Program features include integrated instruction by course clusters or blocks, faculty collaboration and student cooperative learning, multiple assessment strategies, developmentally sequenced field experiences, and university-school partnership activities.

Two educational laboratories are associated with the School of Education: the Preschool Laboratory and the Co-Teach Preschool program. Students who will be teaching the primary grades or who wish to acquire additional skills for working with children with disabilities are strongly encouraged to participate in these laboratory programs.

Specific program options within the School of Education are described below and in the various departmental sections of this catalog.

University of Montana 1998 -1999 Catalog
The University of Montana - Missoula
1999-2000 Catalog | All Catalogs On-Line