Educational Leadership Department

John Matt, Chairman, Educational Leadership

The Educational Leadership knowledge base emphasizes the realities of the workplace, blending practical tasks with the conceptual models of effective leadership. The model uses leadership assessment and problem-based learning throughout nine curricular strands: change/future, leadership, research community, communication, assessment/program evaluation, management, diversity, curriculum, and professionalism/socialization. Students at both degree levels experience integrated coursework, performance-based assessment, and exit interviews on completion of the degree programs.

Programs: The M.Ed., Ed.S., Administrative Licensure, and Ed.D. are offered in education administration and supervision. Information regarding specific requirements and program options is available from the Phyllis J. Washington College of Education and Human Sciences. For more information, please refer to the University of Montana Graduate Programs and Admissions Catalog.  Graduate programs are accredited by The National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) and The Montana Board of Public Education (BPE).

Admission to Educational Leadership: The Program Admissions Committee has established policies and standards for admission which include the GRE (verbal and quantitative); three letters of recommendation (one from an immediate supervisor); official transcripts for all undergraduate and graduate coursework; qualifying examination; and interviews (doctoral). Contact the Department for details.

Certification Requirements: Education Leadership degree and administrative licensure programs lead to Montana Class 3 Administrative Licensure with either a K-12 Principal or Superintendent endorsement. Please note that in addition to the coursework and degree requirements, the State of Montana also requires licensed teaching, school counseling, or administrative experience for the Class 3 license.

Courses (Check master schedule for availability of all courses)

R- before the course description indicates the course may be repeated for credit to the maximum indicated after the R. Credits beyond this maximum do not count toward a degree.

Department Faculty


  • Bill McCaw, Professor

Associate Professor

  • Patty Kero, Associate Professor
  • John Matt, Department Chair / Associate Professor
  • Frances O'Reilly, Associate Professor

Assistant Professor

  • Dan Lee, Assistant Professor