Maxine Ramey, Director

The School of Music offers students who have demonstrated talent in music the opportunity to continue further study either for a profession or an avocation and at the same time acquire a broad general education. Complete sequences of courses are given to prepare a student for a career as a teacher or supervisor of music in the elementary/secondary schools; for a career directed toward composition, the music technology industry, private teaching, or concert work; or, for a thorough training in music within the structure of a broad liberal arts curriculum.

Four year degree programs at the undergraduate level include the Bachelor of Music Education; Bachelor of Music with areas of specialization in performance, piano performance and pedagogy or composition/music technology; and Bachelor of Arts in music. Two year graduate degree programs include the Master of Music with areas of specialization in music education, performance, composition/technology; and musical theater.

The University of Montana-Missoula is an accredited institutional member of the National Association of Schools of Music.

In general, admission as a major in the School of Music is by certificate from the high school from which the student graduates. The faculty of the School of Music is more concerned with evidence of talent, conspicuous achievement in music, promise of development, and scholarship in general than it is in the precise content of the program which the prospective music student has followed prior to admission to the University.

The School of Music welcomes the opportunity for prospective students and parents to consult with faculty and administration by paper and electronic correspondence and/or by appointment interviews on the campus. Every student wishing to become a music major or minor must take the Music Theory Assessment Examination and a Piano Proficiency Evaluation during orientation and also must audition and be accepted officially into the applied studio of a music faculty member prior to confirmation as a fully-admitted major or minor in music. Students may be admitted provisionally for one semester, and at the end of that semester students must reaudition to gain full admittance into a music major degree program

Undergraduate Degrees Available

Subject Type Option Track
Music Bachelor of Arts Specialization in Applied Studies
Music Bachelor of Arts Specialization in Composition
Music Bachelor of Arts Specialization in Musical Studies
Music Bachelor of Arts Specialization in Music History
Music Bachelor of Arts Specialization Instrumental Jazz Studies
Music Bachelor of Music Specialization in Music Composition
Music Bachelor of Music Specialization in Organ Performance
Music Bachelor of Music Specialization in Piano Performance & Pedagogy
Music Bachelor of Music Specialization in Piano Performance
Music Bachelor of Music Specialization Instrumental Performance
Music Bachelor of Music Specialization In Voice
Music Education Bachelor of Music Education
Music Minor

Department Faculty


  • Margaret Nichols Baldridge, Professor Violin and Viola
  • Anne Basinski, Professor, School of Music - Director, UM Opera Theater - Director, Undergraduate Voice Area
  • Fern Glass Boyd, Cello, Music Literature
  • Steven Hesla, Keyboard Area Chair
  • Stephen Kalm, Dean
  • Dr. Robert LedBetter, Director of Percussion Studies
  • Luis Mill├ín, Director of Orchestra, Guitar
  • Maxine Ramey, Director, School of Music
  • Margaret Lund Schuberg, Professor of Flute

Associate Professors

  • David Cody, Voice, Opera, Musical Theatre
  • Jennifer Gookin Cavanaugh, Associate Professor; Oboe, Bassoon, and Theory
  • Lori Gray, Associate Professor, Music Education
  • Kevin Griggs, Associate Director of Bands/Director of Athletic Bands
  • Christopher Hahn, Professor of Piano and Piano Pedagogy
  • Kimberly Gratland James, Associate Professor, Voice; Coordinator, MM Vocal Performance Program
  • James Randall, Associate Professor of Music History
  • James Smart, Director of Bands, Trumpet

Assistant Professors

  • Zachary Cooper, Assistant Professor of Horn and Music Theory
  • David Edmonds, Director of Choral Studies
  • Johan Eriksson, Associate Professor of Saxophone and Jazz Studies
  • Christopher Kirkpatrick, Associate Professor of Clarinet
  • Emilie LeBel, Assistant Professor of Composition
  • Rob Tapper, Professor of Trombone & Director of Jazz Studies

Adjunct Faculty

  • Jeff Brandt, The Unprofessor
  • Nancy Cooper, Adjunct Assistant Professor of Music
  • John Driscoll, Instructor of Trumpet
  • Creighton James, Voice
  • Benedict Kirby, Adjunct Prof. of Tuba & Euphonium
  • Thomas Pertis, Instructor of Guitar
  • Amy Smart, Country Music On-line