Accessible Navigation. Go to: Navigation Main Content Footer

Division of Biological Sciences

Charles H. Janson, Associate Dean for the Biological Sciences

The Division of Biological Sciences offers undergraduate and graduate programs representing the full range of the biological sciences. The Division offers bachelor degrees in Biology (with a broad array of formal options including cellular and molecular biology, ecology and organismal biology, field ecology, genetics and evolution, human biological sciences, natural history, teacher preparation in biology, and teacher preparation in general science), Medical Technology, Microbiology including microbial ecology, and Wildlife Biology (a cooperative program administered by the College of Forestry and Conservation) and Biochemistry (an interdepartmental degree administered by the Chemistry Department). The Division also advises students in pre-health sciences and offers a series of courses during the summer at the University's Flathead Lake Biological Station (see separate listing in this section). The Division is one of the leading research units in the University. Research programs in the Division provide abundant opportunities for students to enhance their educational experience by participating in mentored research. Several sources of funding are available to support undergraduate student research, and the Division participates in the University of Montana Conference on Undergraduate Research each spring.

Graduate degrees offered by the Division of Biological Sciences include Master of Science degrees in Biochemistry, Microbiology, Organismal Biology and Ecology, and Systems Ecology. Doctor of Philosophy degrees are offered in Integrative Microbiology and Biochemistry, in Organismal Biology and Ecology, and in Systems Ecology. The Division participates in the graduate (M.S. and Ph.D.) program in Wildlife Biology, administered by the College of Forestry and Conservation and in the Ph.D. program in Biochemistry, administered by the Chemistry Department. Information on graduate study and program requirements is available from the Graduate School or the Division of Biological Sciences.

The Division of Biological Sciences is committed to providing coursework and experiences for non-science majors. The world faces many problems and opportunities that include significant biological components. Courses for non-science majors have the goal of fostering understanding of the process of science and enhancing biological knowledge as it relates to environmental, medical, social, and other issues. A number of introductory courses are open both to majors and non-majors. In addition, the Division offers courses designed specifically for non-majors: Microbiology for Health Sciences, Introductory Ecology, Survey of Montana Wildlife and Habitats, and others.

Degree requirements and courses are described below (see the College of Forestry and Conservation for information about Wildlife Biology).



Fred W. Allendorf, Ph.D., University of Washington, 1975 (Regents Professor, Emeritus)

Joel Berger, Ph.D., University of Colorado, Boulder, 1978 (John J. Craighead Endowed Chair)

Ragan M. Callaway, Ph.D. University of California at Santa Barbara, 1990

Kenneth P. Dial, Ph.D., Northern Arizona University, 1984

Douglas Emlen, Ph.D., Princeton University, 1994

Kerry R. Foresman, Ph. D., University of Idaho, 1977

James E. Gannon, Ph.D., University of Houston, 1981

Willard O. Granath, Ph.D., Wake Forest University, 1982

Erick P. Greene, Ph.D., Princeton University, 1989

F. Richard Hauer, Ph.D., North Texas State University, 1980

Jesse C. Hay, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, Madison, 1994

Walter E. Hill, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, 1967 (Emeritus)

William E. Holben, Ph.D., University of New York, Buffalo, 1985

Richard L. Hutto, Ph.D., University of California at Los Angeles, 1977 (Director, Avian Science Center)

Charles H. Janson, Ph.D., University of Washington, 1985 (Associate Dean, DBS)

Ralph C. Judd, Ph.D., University of Montana, 1979

J. Stephen Lodmell, Ph.D., Brown University, 1996

John L. Maron, Ph.D., University of California-Davis, 1996

Michael F. Minnick, Ph.D., Washington State University, 1987

Jack H. Nunberg, Ph.D., Stanford University, 1979 (Director for the Montana Biotechnology Center)

Frank Rosenzweig, Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania, 1991

Anna Sala, Ph.D., University of Barcelona, 1992

D. Scott Samuels, Ph.D., University of Arizona, 1991

Stephen Sprang, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, Madison, 1977 (Director, Center for Biomolecular Structure and Dynamics)

Jack A. Stanford, Ph.D., University of Utah, 1975 (Bierman Professor; Director of the Biological Station)

H. Maurice Valett, Ph.D., Arizona State University, Tempe, 1991

Associate Professors

Creagh W. Breuner, Ph.D.., University of Washington, 1998

Lila Fishman, Ph.D., Princeton University, 1998

Mark L. Grimes, Ph.D., University of Oregon, 1986

Winsor H. Lowe, Ph.D., Dartmouth College, 2002

Gordon Luikart, Ph.D., University of Montana, 1997

Michele A. McGuirl, Ph.D., Montana State University, 1999

Scott Miller, Ph.D., University of Oregon, 1999

Bret W. Tobalske, Ph.D., University of Montana, 1994 (Director of the Field Station at Fort Missoula)

Scott A. Wetzel, Ph.D., Oregon Health and Science University, 2001

H. Arthur Woods, Ph.D., University of Washington, 1998

Assistant Professors

Sarah J. Certel, Ph.D., The University of Iowa, 1999

Jeffrey Good, Ph.D., University of Arizona, 2007

John P. McCutcheon, Ph.D., Washington University, 2006

Brent J. Ryckman, Ph.D., The University of Iowa, 2003

Ekaterina Voronina, Ph.D., Brown University, 2003


Heather Davis Labbe, M.S., University of Montana, 2005

Laurie A. Minns, Ph.D., Dartmouth College, 2005

Kevin J. Murray, Ph.D., University of Nevada-Reno, 1994

Research Faculty

Jerry J. Bromenshenk, Ph.D., Montana State University, 1973

Dan Drecktrah, Ph.D., Cornell University, 1999

Bonnie Ellis, Ph.D., University of Montana, 2006

John Kimball, Ph.D., Oregon State University, 1995

Evgueny Kroll, Ph.D., Hopkins School of Medicine, USA

Penny Kukuk, Ph.D., University of Kansas, 1980

Jean-Marc Lanchy, Ph.D., University; Louis Pasteur, StrasBourg, France

Tung-Chung Mou, Ph.D., The University of Texas at Dallas, 2001

Celestine Thomas, Ph.D., Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India, 2001

Associated Faculty

Thomas E. Martin, Ph.D., University of Illinois, 1982

Registrar's Office

Lommasson Center 201

Phone: (406) 243-2995

Fax: (406) 243-4807