School of Public and Community Health Sciences

Tony Ward, Professor and Chair

Accredited by the Council on Education for Public Health (CEPH) in 2012, the School of Public and Community Health Sciences is a multi-disciplinary program that offers the Master of Public Health (M.P.H.) degree and a graduate Certificate of Public Health (C.P.H.).  The program is designed to prepare public health practitioners who will use global insight to improve the health of the people of Montana and other rural areas.  Predominantly on-line, web-based instruction allows both traditional students and working professionals to pursue a degree or certificate.  

Department Faculty


  • Jean Carter, Pharm.D., Ph.D., Professor
  • Ann Cook, Research Professor Bioethics
  • Willard Granath Jr., Professor
  • Kari Jo Harris, PhD, MPH Professor of Public Healthh
  • Rosemary Hughes, Research Professor
  • Craig Molgaard, Ph.D., M.P.H., Professor
  • Liz Putnam, Chair, Associate Professor
  • Annie Sondag, Professor

Associate Professor

  • Duncan G Campbell, Associate Professor Clinical Psychology
  • Bryan Cochran, Professor of Psychology and Director of Clinical Training
  • Curtis Noonan, Professor
  • Gyda Swaney, Associate Professor Clinical Psychology
  • Meg Ann Traci, PhD, Research Associate Professor
  • Tony Ward, Ph.D., Chair and Associate Professor

Assistant Professor

  • Annjeanette Belcourt, Associate Professor

Research Faculty

  • Erin Semmens, Research Assistant Professor


  • Jennifer Bell, Clinical Assistant Professor/Associate Director of Clinical Education
  • Blakely Brown, Professor
  • Elizabeth Ciemins, Director of Research & Analytics
  • Laura Dybdal, Professor
  • John Felton, President & CEO / Health Officer
  • Julie Fife, MPH
  • Kathryn Fox, MPH
  • Niki Graham, MPH
  • April Keippel, Mission and Community Benefit Program Manager
  • Billie Kipp, President, Blackfoot Community College
  • Ellen Leahy, Director Missoula Health Department
  • Joanne Oreskovich, Ph.D., Epidemiologist, DPHHS
  • Justin Price
  • Mindy Renfro, Research Assistant Professor
  • Paul Smith, Clinical Associate Professor of Medicine
  • Anna Winters, MS, PhD
  • Abebaw Worku